Creative musings in bright colors

Baby Doll Lace

Very simple mani today! I picked up a light pink creme from the ULTA sale, and decided it would look great with a lace design. Luckily, I still had some water decals from the Born Pretty Store left from a set they sent me to review some months ago, so here we go!

IMG_5497

Baby Doll is a light pink creme. I was actually pretty impressed with this polish; I’ve been in the market for a nice light pink for a few months (years?) since the ones I have (yes, there are three or so of them) are thick and streaky and just a pain in the butt to work with. One of them needs 5 (!!!!) coats to be opaque. Baby Doll covered nicely in 3 thin coats, although I probably could have gotten away with two. It self-levels nicely. The brush is a bit thick for my tastes (and my poor skinny pinky) but overall this is the best light pink creme I’ve ever worked with. Win!

IMG_5428

The water decals are from the Born Pretty Store, and came with two sizes (you can see them both on my accent nails). Once those were on, I created a black jelly polish (top coat + 2 drips of black polish) and spread that around. It didn’t mix very well! I went ahead and added dots when that was dry.

IMG_5525

IMG_9443

Colors
~ Pink: ULTA – Baby Doll
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_9414

I really need to stop trying to make my own polishes, I’m terrible at it! Oh well. This mani was fast, easy, and looks rather nice! Hope you enjoyed 😀

Comments on: "Baby Doll Lace" (6)

  1. Very cute, I’m not a major fan of pink but this makes it much cuter.

  2. I have a bunch (like, literally, 50) of these lace decals that were “near nothing” cost and never figured out what to do beyond applying over a colored polish, be it neutral or a strong contrast, textured, etc. Your addition of dots – big surprise, from you, makes the design so much more interesting!
    BTW, I am in the Poconos and it is so lovely here, not cool at height of hot weather day but with a/c then, just as in NYC all day long, it is really beautiful. My two cats spend all day long on the screened in porch and won’t be “happy campers” when we go back in around three more weeks.
    (Did you do the dotting on the flat decal and then apply or on your nails after application of the decal?)

    • teheh! Yah, I add dots to everything. I should know better :-p
      And no. I painted the nail pink, then added the decal. Once that was done, I painted on the black jelly, then the dots.

      • I forgot about your black jelly. It makes things look so much nicer! I have to make up some as soon as I find an empty bottle. Or, if I can find some NYC polish, just use the clear new one.
        What do you think, please, is the $1 clear L.A.Colors OK to use to make up a jelly?

      • So, I use the $1 NYC one, but it bubbled a bit. I don’t know if thats because I mixed it up right before using it or what. Honestly, I use jellies rarely enough that spending more than $1 seems like a waste, so go for it!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

