Creative musings in bright colors

Golden Red Waves

I really have no idea what possessed me to make this mani. I wanted to use my new red glitter jelly, Voltage by Sephora X. What ended up happening was a bit…odd.

IMG_9491

Voltage by Sephora X is a collection of small and medium golden holo hex glitters suspended in a light red jelly. Based on the sample I used on my swatching stick, this polish would take wayyyy too many coats to be opaque on its own, so this is three coats over one coat of a red creme. I also added top coat, although this lies flat rather nicely.

IMG_5658

IMG_5737

Unlike the blue of the collection, Voltage is not opaque, and I had to blob the polish on rather thick to get this glitter load. I think it would work fine as a sparse glitter topper, but it is certainly not as dense (or, honestly, pretty) as Outburst. Oh well!

IMG_5761

I ended up adding wavy patterns from Bundle Monster plates 205 and 210. The intent was to use a dark red polish…but my dark red is a jelly (oops) and spilled all over my skirt (akkkk!) and so was placed back on its shelf in disgust. I grabbed a gold instead, but I really wish I had gone for a black! This mani has too much color :-p

Comments on: "Golden Red Waves" (4)

  1. I like the n/a better with the gold “cover design” better than just the micro polish, alone.

    What gold polish did you use and are all golds good for coverage while stamping?

    TX for inso.

    • I’m 90% sure I used Essie Penny Talk here, so a rose gold. As to stamping…I find that the best stamping polishes are metallic gold and silvers (A England Excalibur for silver, and my favorite which I ran out of for gold was Bold Gold by Maybelline). Some people have good luck with microglitters like Sally Hansen Go For Gold, but its harder for me!

      • Thanks very much for info on stamping polish preferences.

        BTW, don’t order decals from where I mentioned, OK? They sent random selection – unless you would not care about that.

      • Oh, that sucks! Thanks for the heads-up

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

