Creative musings in bright colors

Wicked

Today’s prompt was “song” but I decided to go with “musical” instead, because there are too many songs and I gave up trying to pick one to turn into a mani! That being said, I am (back) on a Les Mis kick (best musical ever) and wanted to paint at Les Mis mani but decided a French flag was dumb, so we get one of the many other musicals I love, Wicked!

IMG_9993

I have to say, the lighting in Defying Gravity is one of my two favorite light-induced moments in musicals ever (the other being Mirror Blue Night in Spring Awakening), but its easy to come up with something fairly straightforward to paint that is Wicked-related, so here we go!

IMG_9995

The inspiration came from a mani by Brit Nails, which was a great (and fast) idea to do most nails as a gradient! And since Elphaba is infinitely cooler than Glinda, there is no white-and-pink here.

IMG_7089

Colors
~ Green: Salon Perfect – Loopy Lime
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Red: Pure Ice – Siren
~ Dark red: OPI – Visions of Love
~ Grey: WOW – #333
~ Black/white glitter: Maybelline – Clearly Spotted

IMG_7091

Simple yet awesome! And no I have “no one mourns the wicked” stuck in my head. Song accomplished! Enjoy!

31dc2015-prompts-3

Comments on: "Wicked" (9)

  1. This mani is amazing! I’ve always wanted to see the show, but haven’t yet. I’ll make it one of these days!

  2. Ars Ungealis said:

    These are awesome and the color combo makes them very striking!
    Love them, the hat, and great freehand for Elphaba’s face too!
    Ars Ungealis (@Ungulae on Twitter)

  3. Love your mani! I saw Wicked last year, and it’s one of my favorites!

  4. Awesome indeed, love that green!!

  5. I was also inspired by a musical: Sweeney Todd! I considered doing Wicked as well because it probably my favorite one but I couldn’t decide on a look for it! Love these!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

