Creative musings in bright colors

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Book day! I love books, but since I am a sci-fi and fantasy nut, it is hard to paint the books that I enjoy reading. While looking for something fun to do, I stumbled on this nail art by truebluemeandyou and decided to run with it!

IMG_0025

The version of the caterpillar I chose to use is based more closely on the art from the children’s book, specifically from some clipart I found here. There are four colors of green/teal on the caterpillar, and I went with the leaf (rather than the butterfly) on my thumb because this mani was taking too long! Tip: If you want to do something like this, you need to alternate nails because trying to put a dollop of wet polish on top of an already wet dollop just messes everything up! Translation: I had to re-do my pinky twice before I learned to slow down.

IMG_7275

He’s so cute! I actually can’t remember the last time I read this book, but the picture was enough for me to tell what it was, so I figured it would work for my “book” day in the 31 Day Challenge.

IMG_7284

Colors
~ White: Salon Perfect – Sugar Cube
~ Light green: Essie – The More The Merrier
~ Bright green: Salon Perfect – Loopy Lime
~ Teal: Love & Beauty – Blue
~ Dark green: Zoya – Shawn
~ Brown: Zoya – Dea
~ Red: OPI – All I Want For Christmas (is OPI)
~ Yellow: WOW – #301
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Purple: L’oreal – Royalty Reinvented

IMG_0033

I think that does it! I had to stop myself from using even MORE shades of green, but I think that would have been completely overwhelming. So 4 shades and we’re good! Hope you enjoyed 😀

31dc2015-prompts-3

Comments on: "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" (12)

  1. Lovely mani! It brings back memories of reading to the little. 😊

  2. OMG… the moment I saw the first picture in my feed I just had to click it and comment, even though there are over 200 posts waiting for me (yep, I’m behind…). This is SO adorable! I remember my mom reading me this story as a kid and me reading it myself when I was a little older. Just a short while ago I borrowed it from the library to read it to my little nephew. You captured the entire look and feel of the book perfectly 🙂

  3. Looks great! And here, here. I normally gravitate towards sci-fi, so deliberately chose something different and ran with a kids book 😉

  4. I loved reading this book to the kids when they were little. You did a beautiful job.

  5. Perfect and awesome!!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

