Creative musings in bright colors

Blue Gold Glimmer

I had such high hopes for this mani, and they fell flat. 100% of that is my fault! I am going to try and re-do this one (hopefully sometime soon) and do it RIGHT.

IMG_0064

My problem is that I tried to duplicate the nude base of the mani from Baroquen Nails, rather than just pick a random color to use as a base. The nude I grabbed takes 3 coats to be even remotely opaque, and is super thick so my nails look really fat. Also, my matte top coat is only quasi-matte…the blue color that I used is a true matte and looked much better BEFORE I added top coat!

IMG_0070

The blue is called Brute by Mentality, and covers nicely in two thin coats. We’ll see what happens when I re-do this mani, I might use the same blue matte and just figure out how to make the rest of the design look better!

IMG_7341

IMG_7310

Colors
~ Nude: Forumla X – Marvelous
~ Blue: Mentality – Brute
~ Gold: OPI – I Found a Pot of Gold

IMG_7339

The fun part here are these extra-thick striping tape pieces in gold from the Born Pretty Store. However, I think this is a terrible use for them, so I’ll be fully reviewing them next week! Suffice to say I love striping tape, and these are $0.99, so if you like striping tape to, check them out!

Comments on: "Blue Gold Glimmer" (10)

  1. Well that’s one blue polish I’ll never own lol. It looks pretty but it is Mentality so……..

    • For what its worth, its the new formula. I was one of the bloggers whose nails were destroyed, but this doesnt hurt my nails at all. That being said, no clue if/when mentality will be back! The new zoya holiday mattes coming out soon might be a decent substitute though if you’re looking for a nice blue!

  2. This manicure is extremely rich and full in details!! I def love mid blue and gold decorations together!!! ^_^

  3. I think your design is magnificent!

  4. I think you’re being too hard on yourself. I like this and I love the striping tape.

  5. This looks awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

