Creative musings in bright colors

Checkered Rainbows

After my fail with nail vinyls that I showed you on Monday, I decided that I had to go back and try again. I don’t take failure easily. This time, I decided to do a simple one-color coat over an already dry mani with nail vinyls in between.

IMG_0161

I used my rainbow flag mani from the 31 Day Challenge as my base, because rainbows are fun and should be jazzed up. I pulled the vinyl straight off the plastic backing and onto my nail. I even cut out the vinyls so they wouldn’t pull at each other and rip before I got them on my nail!

IMG_7610

…it still didn’t really work. I had to touch up all three nail (the first two more than the third, I did my pointer last and you can tell). I used a polish I have a lot of experience with (which is to say I regularly use it with tape manis) and it still pulled and made a mess. All three of the vinyls broke while I was removing them, and I had to go in with tweezers and remove individual squares without messing up the rest of the pattern.

IMG_0156

Overall, I think these are a flop. Maybe others have better luck with them, but even sticking them straight onto 100% dry nails, I still got bleed-through and breakage of the vinyls. I’ll try with the second set (zig-zags) at some point soon, but for now I cannot advise anyone to buy these!

IMG_7631

Regardless, you can get 10% off your order from the Born Pretty Store using the code LY5X31. They have great stamps and water decals! Just maybe not nail vinyls :-p

Comments on: "Checkered Rainbows" (2)

  1. Shame they didn’t work so well cause they look super cool.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

