Creative musings in bright colors

Milky Sunrise

I really love this color combo! I’ve done something very similar to these nails before, it can be found here. The difference is that this time, I had different sizes of striping tape and that made everything 300% easier!

IMG_0263

I started by painting my nails white, and adding top coat and letting that dry. Once dry, I used liquid latex to protect around my nails, and made a gradient using a make-up sponge. I then removed the latex, cleaned my cuticles a bit, and added top coat.

IMG_0275

When the gradient was dry, I cut a bunch of striping tape from three different sizes and just applied them at random. Maybe I should have let more white on my nails, but I really like the gradient! The white I used to cover the gradient is a stamping white polish that has a pearly sheen. The other way to do this mani would be apply the striping tape over the white base and then add the gradient, you would end up with more white and less color though!

IMG_7907

Colors
~ White: Salon Perfect – Sugar Cube
~ White shimmer: Mentality – White Opaque
~ Yellow: WOW – #301
~ Orange: Zoya – Thandie
~ Pink: WOW – #371
~ Purple: Sinful Colors – Dream On

You can pretty clearly see the three sizes of tape (and wow was it easier to make this when I didn’t have to try and cut scotch tape to size!). My thumb and middle finger are the clearest I think…the middle line on my thumb and bottom thick line on my middle finger were created using the thickest striping tape, while the two surrounding lines on my thumb and the next line up on my middle finger were made with the medium tape. All other lines on those nails were made using standard thin striping tape.

IMG_7936

Love it! I think I’m going to get a lot of use out of differently sized striping tapes :-D. You can pick some up for yourself at the Born Pretty Store for $0.99. Additional 10% off with the code LY5X31. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Milky Sunrise" (2)

  1. Love these! All hail the striping tape queen! You nailed it again. 😊

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

