Creative musings in bright colors

Foiled!

This was an attempt at the current trend at cracked glass nails…only this failed to look at all like what I intended! Regardless, I think it looks pretty awesome. I have a second attempt that worked better that will be up sometime next week.

IMG_9727

This look was pretty easy to obtain, although it took some time. I started with a black creme base (Sinful Colors – Black on Black), and added quick dry top coat to it. The top coat is important to protect the base, or not-quite-dry glue will pull off your base color!

IMG_9731

Once the top coat was totally 100% dry (I went and played minecraft for about half an hour), I added some random striping tape patterns, and then a very thin layer of the glue that came with my foil set (I’m about 98% sure its just regular old glue…goes on white, dries clear). I then pulled off the striping tape.

IMG_9706

I applied the foil when the glue turned clear (except on my pinky when I forgot and added the foil while the glue was still wet/white…and so it looks like a splatter painting), and squished the foil around before pulling back the rest of the foil roll. I was hoping for nice sharp demarcations where the striping tape had been…and instead I got this! I still like it.

IMG_0731

My only REAL complaint is that my pinky is more green than teal. Oops! I added some water-based top coat to finish off the design, as it causes less crinkling of the foil (although it does crinkle some regardless).

IMG_0733

Hope you enjoyed! Not a great way to make broken glass nails, but quite fun anyway 😀

Comments on: "Foiled!" (4)

  1. Loves theseeee!!! the texture is EPICNESS!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

