Creative musings in bright colors

Purple X

You guys. This took SO MUCH STRIPING TAPE. Oh my god. 18 pieces per nail. I almost died. It took me 15 minutes per nail just to place them all! I thought this was going to be a medium fast mani (as many tape manis are) and it was NOT. Then again, it looks awesome!

IMG_0828

The art (aka lots of X-shapped stripes) was inspired by @nailsbysophiaa. I kinda like her pink-to-blue gradient better than mine shades-of-purple one (you can honestly barely see the gradient) but I needed it to be purple, so hey! Still works.

IMG_0265

Colors
~ Purple: Sephora X – Ignition
~ Purple metallic: Zoya – Giada
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
~ Gold holo: ILNP – Fame

IMG_0835

I guess I’m really liking striping tape right now…Monday, yesterday, and tomorrow’s manicures are all tape-based! It looks like next week is going to be mostly shades of blue and teal (I do go in phases…).

IMG_0243

Ah well, hope you enjoyed! And Happy Thanksgiving if you are in the US. I didn’t do any themed manis this year, I kept doing turkeys in past years and they never came out right so I just didn’t try!

Comments on: "Purple X" (6)

  1. Such a pretty combo of colors and the design is lovely! Would doing it all as “decals” using a stamping plate design for the lines have been easier since you have mastered that “leadlight” technique?

    • Honestly, it would have been faster! I do love striping tape, but this was a pain in the butt. Sadly, I don’t have that type of stamping plate.

  2. myishia simmons said:

    Wow! You’re right the outcome is fantastic. I have been wanting to do an X design in shades of blue inspired by Lacquer Style. However, I will totally be cheating and just doing a stamped decals. Yours for is awesome though.

  3. 18 pieces per nail? Dayummm you have a lot of patience! It turned out awesome!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

