Creative musings in bright colors

Golden Walks

More tape! Quite a lot of tape actually. Although I like the end result here, it doesn’t look at ALL like what I was going for! I tried to base this off an awesome bit of tape and polish by pshiiit, and you can hardly tell. I think she might have thinner striping tape than me!

IMG_0717

The base here is the second of my new ILNP polishes, a stunning muted purple with subtle holo, a pink flash, and gold flakes. This is not the type of color I would usually reach for or buy, but I’m trying to stock up on beautiful polishes for when I have to return to the hospital in 8 months…and I thought this fit the bill! Who knows if they’ll let me wear it, but I think I have a better chance than with my bright greens (sadly)!

IMG_9565

IMG_9553

Anyway, the base is 3 thin coats of Long Walks by ILNP. The polish goes on like a dream, if a bit thin. I used three coats because the light base was not quite opaque at two, but it dried very fast so it wasn’t really a bother. I do like this color on its own, but with nail art it just kind of fades into a grey-purple and is less interesting (unless it catches the light and you can find the holo and pink shimmer). I included to swatch shots mostly because in direct light you get pink and holo, and with indirect you get the awesome gold flakies! (And sorry about the red fingers in the direct light photo…it was the only way I could get a color-accurate shot!)

IMG_9600

I should have used a metallic gold and not a glitter, but I really don’t have any right now! Oops. My bottle of Bold Gold by Maybelline is 98% empty and dried up, thus terrible for striping tape. Also, pshiit’s peek-a-boo lines are tiny and mine are distinctly not. Which is to say, her’s is elegant and mine is merely playful.

IMG_9573

Colors
~ Light purple: ILNP – Long Walks
~ Purple: Station – Happy Wine-y People
~ Gold: Salon Perfect – Gold Leaf

IMG_0709
Anyway, subtle and bold! It was fun to wear regardless. Happy Friday! Go shop for polishes if you are in the US 😀

Comments on: "Golden Walks" (6)

  1. So pretty and clean lines!! I love the wine color and how it looks liked “baked enamel.”

  2. I really like this version and love the colors you choose.

  3. myishia simmons said:

    Your lines are impeccable! I could never accomplish anything remotely as good as this, girl you got some real skills!

    • 😀 its just a matter of timing and using fairly fresh polish (older polish pulls and so the lines aren’t as clean…and placing striping tape takes forever no matter what)! But thannnnnk you!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

