Creative musings in bright colors

Wrinkled Wrapping Paper

IMG_4666I was sent some “nail wraps” to review from Lady Queen Beauty. When I saw these online and picked them out, I thought they were full-nail water decals (like I’ve gotten before from Lady Queen and been very pleased with). However, when they arrived I realized I was wrong.

IMG_4684

The package on these says they have a silver back and are made of nail polish. It says they are thin, and should be applied like stickers and then filed off at the tips. The package lies. These things are AWFUL.

IMG_4673

The design is actually really nice, I like triangles. The background is a frosted clear with scattered holo glitter. So far, so good. Only…whoever made them never intended them for nails. They are THICK. They do not BEND. And they do not stick. They are basically a thick plastic design stuck to double sided sticky tape. You get ONE placement with these…before the tape sticks to your nail and not the plastic design. On my pinky, I tried to reposition the stickers (I messed up the first time) and the whole sticky part stuck to my nail, leaving behind a flimsy yet thick plastic design! So I stuck it on with top coat as though it were a stamping decal. Only it still won’t lie flat.

For my ring and middle finger I knew I had one shot, and it worked ok. My nails are not particularly curvy, and even so the decal flares off the nail in the middle on both sides. *sigh*. My pointer was terrible. I tried to do the same thing as I did with the other two, and the sticker CRACKED. Don’t ask me how. But it was already half stuck so I tried to turn it into a stamping decal type thing and it ripped MORE and I couldn’t remove it…anyway, it was bad. My thumb went fine.

IMG_2358

The indoor photos are with one coat of top coat, outdoor has one thin and one THICK, just to stop the stickers from lifting off my nails completely! Moral of the story, don’t buy these (they are $1.99 on sale right now, but still). I’ll add the link so you know to stay AWAY (and if you want to buy something else, like water decals, use my 15% off code BPLC15). Hope your nails look better than mine!!

Comments on: "Wrinkled Wrapping Paper" (2)

  1. Aww. I’m sorry to hear about your experience with these! Lovely design though!
    -Ghia of candidlyghia.com

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

