Creative musings in bright colors

Glitzy Gown

A bunch of my favorite nail art bloggers are doing a fashion week thing (Nail Art Fashion Week), so I figured I’d join in (for a few days at least!). The prompt for day #1 is “favorite fashion designer” which for me is a no-brainer…as I basically only know one fashion designer, Alexander McQueen!

IMG_2847

I went browsing through some google images of McQueen dresses, and stumbled on this one. It a wedding gown, but what caught my eye was that VEIL. Since I wanted to play with a new polish I got from the color4nails sale, I figured this would work nicely!


What you see here is two coats of Microcosm by Powder Perfect, a brand that I have never tried before! I love love love the polish brush on this (something I usually don’t comment about) although I did have to pull out a stray bristle before I could use it. The polish was pretty patchy with one coat, but with two it was perfect! I thought I would need a third but I was wrong.

IMG_6492

I don’t quite know how to describe Microcosm. Silver-grey holo glitter base with lots and lots of metallic multichrome flakies? Predominately purple/blue, but there are a whole bunch in here. It’s pretty awesome!

IMG_6604

To mimic the look of the McQueen dress, I grabbed a swirly lacy stamp (EdM – 17) and a white metallic polish and stamped away! I don’t think I would have paired a white with this polish without the inspiration prompt, but I like the result!

IMG_2845

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Glitzy Gown" (9)

  1. I like this the best of all your layered n/a, I think!
    You take on a technique polish and quickly perfect it!! You should be proud of yourself and all you mastered in n/a (as you nearly finish your MD/PhD program 🙂 + prepare for your wedding. First things first! ) !

  2. BTW, do you happen to have made yourself a list of how to clean various types of stamping heads, i.e., acetone; polish remover; only tape and no solvent, i.e., new clear silicone head?

  3. Paula Jones said:

    Very pretty

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

