Creative musings in bright colors

Optimistic

So, this polish has an interesting origin story. At my bridal shower (thrown by my sister and my mother) the party favors were nail polish! Totally a good call on their parts. Unfortunately, my sister lost the color battle so they were all shades of pink and red, but luckily won the brand battle so they got essie (and not sinful colors or wet n’ wild)! The polish I am wearing here was the one I snagged from the few leftovers, so I am wearing my own bridal shower polish!

IMG_3332

The polish itself is called Eternal Optimist, and is a slightly greyed medium light pink. 100% work appropriate but a bit more interesting than a candy pink, at least to me! Eternal Optimist covered nicely in two coats, and was beautifully glossy and self-leveling. Basically, it had a typical formula for essie creme polishes.

IMG_8287

I then went and added triangles with white polish, and threw on some bits and pieces of water decals I had sitting around! I always save my leftover water decal pieces, since I always have left over from full-nail designs. This ended up pretty cool, although it was a hassle trying to find the right sized triangle to match the white patch on my nails! I maybe should have measured (at least by eye) before I painted the white polish on.

IMG_8335

The design was finished with striping tape and top coat. The striping tape was really a necessity since the water decals were not perfect fits for the white patches. Whoops!

IMG_8312

Colors
~ Pink: Essie – Eternal Optimist
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White

IMG_3333

Hope you enjoyed! Next week is chrome polish week. Since I have so many posts lined up, I am making themed weeks! Although some of the themes are things like “short nails” and “nerdy”. I haven’t picked out an order to post them it yet!

Comments on: "Optimistic" (8)

  1. Paula Jones said:

    Cool, like these x

  2. This is cute! It looks like that bottle of Essie polish has silvery shimmer in it but I can’t see it on your nails. This is a fun patchwork design. I like it very much.

    • Love the design. But how do you get the stripping tape to stay on?? Every time I have tried to use it there’s always corners or endings that lift.

      • I cut it realllly close to my nail edge with nail clippers, and make sure I put two layers of top coat that wrap the edges wherever the striping tape is. Even so, it usually only lasts 3 days before the striping tape stars to peel off!

    • I think the polish is a creme polish? I see what you mean, but I can’t even see the shimmer on my swatch stick! And thanks🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

