Creative musings in bright colors

Tribal Rising Red

So, I didn’t post yesterday (disrupting my Monday-Wednesday-Friday schedule) because I am going to TRY and do the September 31 Day Challenge (hosted as usual by the ever-talented Chalkboard Nails). I don’t know that I’ll be able to keep up even a little…I have a lot of pre-done manis since I posted less and painted more than I expected during my hospital time. That being said, I have the distinct impression that I’ll be painting LESS than I expect during this 3-week break. I need to paint my nails and edit the art…plus do a bunch of lab work, analysis of older lab work, re-write a paper submission, plan my wedding details (I have something like 1,000 flowers in my nail art room right now, its a bit chaotic), and study for a shelf exam! In short, I will try but no promises. As it stands, there will not be a “yellow” day, because I do not paint my nails yellow unless I HAVE to, so I have nothing done yet and I likely won’t in two days!

IMG_0946

ANYWAY on to today! This was “red” day, or Day 1. I painted these this weekend as a celebration of not-wearing-nude and the fact that I was able to grow my nails out while in the surgical ICU since it didn’t require actual surgery! It was also the first time in 8 weeks that anyone noticed my nails at all, I got a bit more completed than previously the last week I was there. Luckily the residents liked what I was wearing!

IMG_4179

My idea here was to make a red-to-black gradient and then do some fancy stamping down the middle. This mani is really brought to you by liquid latex. I used it both for the gradient (to make clean-up easy) and to protect the white stripe so I could stamp over only the white part.

IMG_0940

Colors
~ Light Red: Pure Ice – Siren
~ Red: OPI – All I Want for Christmas (is OPI)
~ Dark red: OPI – Visions of Love
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme
~ Stamp: BM – XL205

IMG_4175

Thats all for today! Let’s see how long I can keep this up, and if you are interested feel free to join in the 31-day-challenge! It’s always been fun and I ALWAYS find new bloggers to follow through it 😀

Comments on: "Tribal Rising Red" (6)

  1. Oh man that’s gorgeous I love the 31 day challenge. That’s how I found your blog. Good luck and you are definitely excused from yellow day. Yellow really, couldn’t we have teal!

  2. Your gradient is perfection and I adore the middle design!

  3. This is really cool! I love the edgy look of the tribal stripe with red and black.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

