Creative musings in bright colors

Opening Flourish

I don’t really know what design I was going for here, but I do love the end result! I tried to do a metallic purple and blue stamp, but they blended in too well with the base polish (I left the stamp on my pinky and you really can’t even see it). I then did a light blue + light purple feathery stamp, and that was also subtle. So, being me, I added a slightly curved geometric stamp with the lightest blue I own, and voila! It looks awesome. It also works for “geometric day”.

img_3542

I started with a base of another of my new Emily de Molly polishes, a really complicated color called Open Season. Open Season took three coats, but it was alright at two, I just wanted more glitter! From what I can tell, this polish has a dark redish-purple jelly base, is packed with small pink glitters, blue micro-shimmer, medium teal glitters, and largish bright blue metallic hexes. Its like a magic potion in a polish! I LOVE it. I want to try it over black and just pick out the shimmer and glitter next time!

img_8822

Seriously. I had been trying to figure out which blue glitter EdM polish I wanted most, and then Haley came out with this one…and I just DIED. When it went on sale at color4nails I went straight for it! Given how much glitter is in this, I am glad I used a peel-off base, but I in no way regret my purchase 😀

img_3536

That being said, Open Season is definitively a purple polish, it just has so much blue glitter in it that it can be hard to tell. Unfortunately, purples are impossible to photograph so yes, it looks blue. But it is a berry purple in real life, I promise!

img_8898

Colors
~ Purple blue glitter: Emily de Molly – Open Season
~ Blue: Zoya – Yummy
~ Purple: Zoya – Malia
~ Light blue: Zoya – Blu
~ Stamps: EdM – 03, BC – 10

img_8917

I know the color is a bit wonky with this post…the truth is the only way to get the polish to show up as purple and not blue was to permit my poor fingers to go ally strange and red! And I preferred (this time) for the polish to be true-to-color in most of the photos. Hence, red fingers. Sorry!

Comments on: "Opening Flourish" (7)

  1. this is a lovely mani!

  2. I love these! Everything comes together perfectly, even the subtle background stamping. 💙

  3. Absolute stunning and that emily de molly nailpolish♡♡♡and the stamping is great to:)

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

