Creative musings in bright colors

Water Wood Grain

For water marble day, I decided to do something a bit different! I wanted to see if I could water marble wood grain. It somewhat worked?

img_4320

I started with a new polish that I picked up earlier this month from the clearance rack at ULTA. I’ve been on the hunt for a slightly nude off-white. This is more nude/peachy than I wanted it, but is not quite a light pink! I also think it is indeed a bit lighter than my lightest nude (Chantal by Zoya) but I’ll need to do a direct comparison since I am currently out of swatching sticks!

img_1178

This polish is called I Nude It by Essense. It is my second essence polish and I had forgotten how much I love them. I used three thin coats but I could have gotten away with two. The polish self-leveled nicely, and the color is a beautiful pale peachy-nude with barely-there golden shimmer (you can see it in the bottle but not really on the nail). I like it!

img_1297

I then went and marbled with three other shades of brown/nude and my clear water marbling polish…which totally overwhelmed the browns. Whoops! So I added a little bit of free-hand brown at the end. I don’t know that I would have said these looked like wood without knowing what I was aiming for, but the definitely count as water marble so it works for the Day 20 of the 31 Day Challenge prompt!

img_1282

Colors
~ Nude: Essence – I Nude It
~ Dark nude: Wet n’ Wild – Private Viewing
~ Brown: Zoya – Dea
~ Dark brown: Zoya – Louise
~ Clear marbling: Pipe Dream Polish – Clearwater

img_4299

Hope you enjoyed! We are finally just about 2/3 of the way done with this challenge. Lets see if I can make it to the end!

Comments on: "Water Wood Grain" (2)

  1. You almost did watermarble wood grain. It’s close. Actually it looks more like creamer and coffee. Maybe darker colors would be more wood-like?

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

