Creative musings in bright colors

War of the Worlds

I wanted to ask you guys to guess what book this was from, but I put it in the title instead. In the past I have done any number of nerdy books (Dune and Enders Game come to mind first) and last year I did a children’s book (The Very Hungry Caterpillar). This year I wanted something nerdy but different…and I realized that one of the only books I had as a .pdf on my computer was War of the Worlds.

img_1515

To be fair, this was first a radio broadcast (which, awesome), but I was introduced to it as a book. I also wanted something that no one had done before (that is very very rare…I think I was the first to do BB-8 nail art on one nail, and maybe C3P0 as a full mani or something…but usually someone else already had an idea for me to modify when I google anything). No one, as far as I can tell, has done this type of world-destructing giant robots before!

img_4367

In terms of nail polish, the base color here (the orange) is new. When I was at ULTA picking up new makeup sponges for gradients (I finally ran out) I saw this orange on the clearance wrack and decided to try it! I’ll need to do a full comparison with my other medium orange (Thandie by Zoya…which is technically a shimmer but not really) at some point. Regardless, this is two easy coats of Sun of a Gun by ULTA, and it is quite pretty! A nice medium-dark orange creme.

img_1467

Colors
~ Orange: ULTA – Sun of a Gun
~ Purple: Sinful Colors – Muse
~ Black: Wet n’ Wild – Black Creme
~ Gold: Petites Color Fever – 24kt Gold

img_1496

The actual inspiration for the design came from art that I found elsewhere on wordpress. I can’t imagine painting a whole canvas with something that intricate!

img_4369

This only took 30 minutes once the orange base was dry, which is really really fast! It wasn’t difficult, but it was fun, and its satisfying to know that I am the first to try this particular bit of weirdness! Also, sorry for posting this late…my week has been a mess and I just finished editing it! So, technically it is a day late. But that just means I’m posting twice in one day I suppose!

Comments on: "War of the Worlds" (6)

  1. Paula Jones said:

    Awesome!!!

  2. You did an awesome job!

  3. Love the movie and the nails came out awesome

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

