Creative musings in bright colors

Celestial Spheres

Looking back over nail artists who inspire me, I’ve realized that a number of the women who’s nail art I loved years ago and who eventually persuaded me to try my own hand at nail art have faded out of existence. The two biggest names that make me very sad are WorkPlayPolish and KaylaShevonne, both of whom were extraordinary. Even the ones who are still around post infrequently, like ChalkboardNails. One of the only ladies who predates me and has stuck around posting amazing nail art day after day is Cathy at More Nail Polish. So this mani is inspired by and in homage to her!

img_1712

I actually went through the past 3 or so years worth of her nail art….at least what is on instagram. I personally hate instagram, I like being able to say things about my nail art and post more than one photo…and IG takes all of that away. However, it is good for quick scrolling!

img_4414

While looking, I found a number of things I liked…one of which reminded me that I hadn’t worked with blue recently AND that I had this really cool stamp that I had never actually used! So here we are, with some art inspired by MoreNailPolish.

img_1698

Colors
~ Darkest blue: Maybelline – Midnight Swim
~ Dark blue: Zoya – Sia
~ Blue: Zoya – Ling
~ Glitter: ORLY – Sparkling Garbage
~ Gold: Essie – Good as Gold
~ Stamp: BM – 610

img_4416

Anyway, this concludes the 31 Day Challenge of 2016. I almost made it! *sigh* who knows what I’ll be up to next year, but hopefully I’ll still be posting! It makes me sad that so many women give up on their blogs, and that they do so without warning. I want to know where all the people I used to follow have gone off to! If I ever do have to stop posting (which I’m sure will happen during intern year of residency), I will at least give warning, I promise!

Comments on: "Celestial Spheres" (4)

  1. Gorgeous nails. Cathy at more nail polish was my very first nail blogger I ever followed. I found your blog by following the 30 day nail art challenge from her blog two years ago. So this post is particularly appropriate.

  2. Puh-ri-ty!!
    Shana Tovah!!
    Tamara

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

