Creative musings in bright colors

Gates of Ruby

I am trying for a Thanksgiving-themed week…although I am not doing my thanksgiving mani until Wednesday or Thursday night! Which really means you won’t see it until next week at the earliest (sorry). Enjoy these in the meanwhile!

img_4679

I have bought surprisingly few new nail polishes this year…it is already November and I think I have maybe 20 new ones from the entire year? Which given how often I want to buy one is actually impressive. This is one of my recent purchases, Ruby by KBShimmer from their overwhelmingly sparkling Birthstone collection.

img_2590

Ruby was opaque in two easy coats, and incredibly glittery. The saturated reddish-pink jelly means that the silver flecks glow more pink than silver, but it is quite pretty! Unfortunately, this is definitely a pink-leaning red polish, rather than a true red. I like it anyway. Suuuuuper sparkly! Honestly, I like the other one I bought better (Sapphire), but this is quite a pretty color and I don’t have any light red glittery monstrosities in my collection yet! I almost want to buy the green (Emerald) as well, but I hardly wear my green glitters as is, and I own like 5 of them. At least I wear my blues and my reds!

img_2490

For the design, I started with just a geometric black stamp with the intention to matte the final pattern, but the result didn’t tickle me. So I added the gold and I love it! I still matted the finished design, and I am glad I did. I also bough the Oy Matte top coat from KBShimmer because my matte (a Sally Hansen) just wasn’t getting the job done. Oy Matte is wonderful!

img_4683

Colors
~ Red: KBShimmer – Ruby
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Gold: Essie – Good as Gold
~ Stamps: BP – 17, EdM – 11

img_2563

Thats it for today! Another awesome (and new) polish+design coming up on Wednesday. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Gates of Ruby" (2)

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

