Creative musings in bright colors

Copperized

Gah. I had such high hopes for this mani and they did not pan out! This is not my best work (although it isn’t a total fail I suppose).

img_9143

I was trying to compare the two matte-finish Zoya green polishes: Honor and Veruschka. I bought Honor for a friend who really liked Veruschka, since Veruschka was discontinued. I wanted to compare the two before I gave Honor away just to see (sorry Amy, I wore this on one hand first!). Honestly, the two polishes are very very close. V is a little darker and more true-matte than H, but frankly its a bit hard to tell! I am glad I have V, I like the more matted finish a tad better.

img_9105

Ok, so, Honor by Zoya is a medium-dark-green polish with a semi-matte finish (more of a satin than a true matte) with shimmer. The shimmer is a bit hidden in the matte state, and I did not add top coat so no photo, sorry! This is three thin coats of Honor. As with all mattes, it dried down gratifyingly fast!

img_9117

I then went and directly compared to Veruschka…which is still a name I cannot spell half the time (hence the V earlier). I did one stripe of V up the middle of each nail (I have photos of that too, but they were a bit out of focus so unless someone cares deeply, I won’t be posting them). When that dried, I added another stripe of Honor, so that the design was a base of Honor with two thin lines of V and a middle line of Honor again. From the photo below, you can tell that V really is a half-shade darker, but you can’t tell the finish. V has a bit more shimmer (or it just stands out better against the darker finish) and dries down matte-er than Honor. That being said, I don’t think anyone needs to own both unless they REALLY like green mattes! As mentioned, I personally prefer V but only by a little.

img_9133

Colors
~ Green matte: Zoya – Honor
~ Dark green matte: Zoya – Veruschka
~ Copper glitter: Butter London – Scuppered
~ Purple copper glitter: Zoya – Faye

img_3599

The design came about because I wanted to rebel against my recent hospital time with some 3D dots…although they took forever to dry! There are two colors of dots (which you cannot see in the outdoor photos because they are both soo glittery), and the overall effect was…meh. But I tried!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

