Creative musings in bright colors

Sea or Sky

I kept thinking that this mani looked like swirling sea water (with ice on it) or a fancy stone…and my husband saw celestial bodies and stars. So sea or sky, which do you guys see?

img_5475

Regardless, I have another new polish to share! This one was sent to me to review from the Born Pretty Store. It’s a thermal polish with copious silver glitter in  it, and is quite pretty! Oddly, when I looked at it online, it looked like a bright blue when warm and a deep purple when cold….but in person, its more of a blue-teal when warm and a deep blue-jean shade of blue when cold. Not as exciting as blue and purple, but still pretty! I wonder if they changed the formulation?

img_5414

Regardless, 009 by VCND Bluesky covered very nicely in three thin coats. I used thin coats to get maximal glitter coverage! It dries to a semi-matte, but does dry fairly fast. The best part is the glitter spread…I didn’t have to go digging for the larger hex glitters at all, and despite the glitter load the polish spread smoothly. The warm color is a bright teal-leaning blue, while the dark color is the shade of blue jeans. There isn’t a huge difference between the two colors, honestly…but both are pretty and the glitter is really nice!

img_5462

Colors
~ Blue thermal: VCND  Bluesky – 009
~ Light blue: Zoya – Yummy
~ Dark blue: Zoya – Ibiza
~ Silver: Nails Inc – South Kensington
~ Clear: Pipe Dream Polish – Clearwater

img_5434

I couldn’t decide what to stamp, so I did a quasi water-marble instead. I wanted to do blues with silver (and clear to allow the thermal polish to show through) but the silver I grabbed formed these awesome clumps instead of marbling…so I just went with it! It was much more fun making this messy clumpy marble than it was trying to perfect an elegant and smooth water marble, so win!

img_5460

If you want to pick up this blue glittery thermal for yourself, you can find it at the Born Pretty StoreBorn Pretty Store for $4.99. I think its important to point out that this is a mini bottle (only 7.5ml). You can also use my 10% off code, LY5X31!

Comments on: "Sea or Sky" (4)

  1. I love it. It kinda reminds me of a blue gemstone. It’s kinda cool when something like that happens. If you tried for that effect it would never work. I really like it.

    • I thought so too! I was just trying to do a normal watermarble…turns out silver metallic polish doesn’t behave like normal. It was pretty fun to play with!

  2. Claire Talks Beauty said:

    love these! My favorite is the 009 by VCND Bluesky. so pretty!

    http://www.clairetalksbeauty.com/

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

