Creative musings in bright colors

Wrapped Hex

Initially, I wanted to do a wrapping paper design, where more of the design would be visible (or invisible) depending on the temperature of my nails (because thermal polishes are magic). But then the bow stamp I wanted to use wouldn’t stamp, so I found a different one, and wanted swirls…so here we are.

img_5023

Basically, I have no idea what this is but it looks cool!

img_5016

I started with three thin coats of Hex by Bow Polish. Hex is a thermal scattered holo polish, which is bright red when warm and deep burgundy when cold. This time around, my nails were warm when I was painting them, so they turned bright red very quickly! I don’t know if I needed three coats (although the polish dried fast enough that it wasn’t a bother) since I couldn’t tell if the darker red was evenly coated since it kept turning light. I do love both the bright and dark shade of this polish! And the scattered holo-goodness.

img_3817

I then tried to stamp with a dark red (which was too jelly-like to really show up), a dark purple (which also wasn’t quite dark enough to stand out) and eventually gave up and just stamped with black (Wet n’ Wild – Black Creme) with swirls from BM-607. After that, I tried stamping some gold (Essie – Good as Gold) bows from one of the 300-series BM plates….which failed. So I grabbed a cool diamond-like design from JQ-L20 and used that instead! I meant to add straight lines to maybe make the pattern look like a wrapped gift…but decided on dots at the last minute instead. So now it looks nothing like what I intended but I like it anyway!

img_5043

I don’t know if I like the way the gold stands out from the dark color better than when the swirls appear or not. Decisions!

img_3888

Regardless, I hope you enjoyed! Clearly, thermal polishes are my new favorite thing (I went from owning 3, only one of which I paid for, to owning 7! Yay)!

Comments on: "Wrapped Hex" (2)

  1. Wow it looks amazing in all its incarnations. You can have completely different looking nails when your outside and your fingers are cold to inside when it’s warm. I can see why that would be fun!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

