Creative musings in bright colors

Dust and Shadow

It has been a trend with me recently that I want to buy one polish from a certain brand, but I feel silly ordered just one…so I get the one I wanted and one that I pick at the last minute. And end up loving more than the one I initially thought I wanted! This is the…third? Fourth? time that it has happened to me in in a few months.

img_4667

Regardless, Shadow on the Moon is stunning. Truly stunning. This is a medium-gray polish filled with coarse holo glitter, small circular holo glitter, and saturated with pink shimmer. I love it! Shown here is two easy coats with top coat. As I mentioned, I almost didn’t buy this polish but I am sooo glad I did…it is subtle and elegant but hopelessly complex. It is absolutely going to make my top 10 polishes of 2017.

img_2482

I also didn’t want to cover too much of this color, so I decided to just go with stripes. Every time I turn to striping tape I think “oh, this will be easy and pretty” and each time I end with “WHY DID I THINK I’D BE DONE IN LESS THAN 3 HOURS OMFG”. So, there’s that. Also, don’t use pastel almost-jellies over dark colors…it will take 3 passes to cover the underlying color and your nails will be bumpy!

img_2534

Colors
~ Grey holo: Emily de Molly – Shadow on the Moon
~ Dark grey: Sinful Colors – Muse
~ Light pink: ULTA – Baby Doll

img_2510

It is hard to tell, but those lighter color stripes are a pale pink! I was trying to match the pink shimmer in the grey polish…but I should have gone a shade or two darker. Oh well. Still looks cool.

img_4671

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Dust and Shadow" (5)

  1. I’m always so jealous of how even you get your stripes in your nail art 😍

  2. Yes, striping tape takes time …like a lot of time 😉

  3. Shadow on the moon is stunning!!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

