Creative musings in bright colors

Dark Tribal

I think green-blue-purple might be my favorite gradient to do. It looks both lovely and mysterious! Unfortunately, the makeup sponge I used to apply this particular gradient was past its prime, and it left me with a bunch of small bumps on my nails. Regardless, I think this came out quite well!

IMG_4031

I started this mani with two thin coats of Tilda by Zoya, a very pretty medium-light green! This polish self-levels nicely, but dries about half a shade darker than it looks in the bottle. I am quite happy with this polish. I ended up getting two green cremes from Zoya (Tilda and Jace) and found Tilda to be far superior to Jace (I’ll have to do a comparison after I post the mani with Jace). This polish is even, opaque, and a very nice color.

IMG_3959

I went ahead and added the gradient to dark purple, and then a fun geometric stamp to round it out! I think if i had used a lighter blue and purple that this would look more Spring-themed, but honestly I painted it in the winter and I personally just like darker colors.

IMG_4009

Colors
~ Green: Zoya – Tilda
~ Blue: Zoya – Sia
~ Purple: Zoya – Monica
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Stamp: EdM – 11

IMG_4035

I’ve started switching up how I take my photos just a little, and am taking bottle shots with most of my manis at this point (since many of the photos that I like best from other nail artists show them holding a bottle of polish, or some other wrap-around prop). I still don’t think I’m quite the best at positioning! Oh well.

IMG_5091

Hope you enjoyed! Happy Friday!

Comments on: "Dark Tribal" (4)

  1. Love this, esp with the tribal stamping! I’ve never tried blue, green & purple together (although I have used every pair from there) and it does look great! I’m going to try this.

    • 😀 awesome! I think my two favorite gradient patterns are likely green-blue-purple and orange-red-purple, honestly!

  2. Things I didn’t know I would have to think about when I started photographing my nails a year ago: hand positions. It’s not that easy! 😬

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

