Creative musings in bright colors

All I could think when I was putting this together was how darn pretty the colors looked in a row. If I didn’t feel the urge to swatch Flynn I would have just made an ombre! However, with it done, it totally looks like an array of milky coffee to completely black coffee 😀

IMG_4650

The base color here is Flynn, a creme from Zoya. Flynn is a perfect mix between the color of caramel and milk chocolate. That is to say, it is a medium-hue brown with a yellow-leaning base. It covered well in two thin coats (I honestly could have gotten away with one thicker coat), and self-leveled nicely. On me, the color looks one shade darker than my skin tone and was super elegant if a bit creepy!

IMG_4614

I hand-painted the chevrons (which is why they are slightly wonky) before going through all my gold and red glitter polishes (I narrowed it down to those two families) and settling on a bronze-toned gold glitter for the accents. I really love how it turned out (and am super glad I didn’t use a red)!

IMG_4648

Colors
~ Lightest brown: Zoya – Chantal
~ Light brown: Zoya – Flynn
~ Brown: Zoya – Dea
~ Dark brown: Zoya – Louise
~ Gold: ILNP – Clockwork

IMG_4662

This mani also serves as a good comparison between some of the brown Zoya cremes! I was desperately trying to figure out how similar Flynn was to Dea when I was going to buy it, so maybe this’ll make someone’s life easier. For what its worth, Flynn is lighter (clearly) and yellow-toned, while Dea is darker and red-toned.

IMG_4647

The other funny part of this, is that I’ve done something similar before! I thought I had, but I didn’t get a chance to go through my old nail art before painting this. Hilariously, I tried to pretend that one had something to do with coffee too…way back in 2013! This one looks far better (at least in terms of color gradient), and I guess the way I think about titling my posts hasn’t changed in years. Yay browns!

Comments on: "Coffee and Cream Chevrons" (7)

  1. Gorgeous! 😍

  2. Personally not a fan of coffee but love this colour combo! I know a lot of people dislike brown on the nails!

  3. Love, love, LOVE IT!!!

  4. […] colors are the same (other than the gold) to those used in an earlier mani, Coffee and Cream Chevrons. I wore these to work, so I needed my hands to look as similar as possible…without requiring me […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

