Creative musings in bright colors

Orthodox Easter Eggs

Unlike ‘normal’ easter eggs, at a Greek (or maybe any type of Orthodox) easter celebration, the eggs are dyed a deep red. I’ve always thought they were pretty, so I decided to mimic the design on my nails this year! It also gives away how long ago I painted these nails, but oh well.

IMG_6846

Although none of the eggs I interacted with over the easter weekend this year had patterns, it is apparently acceptable to scratch patterns into the red dye (especially in Russian Orthodoxy I think). So, I found a picture of some very pretty patterned red eggs, and went as close as I could with my nails.

greekeastereggs

IMG_6026

Unfortunately, I forgot to make a post for these when I painted them…so I actually have no idea which colors I used! Sorry. All I can say for sure is that it was a LOT of reds (I think like 6 reds or so) :-/

IMG_6027

The saddest part for me though, was that no one recognized what I was trying to do over easter! People liked the red, but they didn’t figure out they were eggs. (To be fair, I have no idea how they could have made that jump).

IMG_6840

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Orthodox Easter Eggs" (4)

  1. I can imagine people don’t immediately connect red nails with easter eggs but they are gorgeous! Just wondering, did you do a smooshy base? If not, do you remember how you did it? I love how the reds seem to swirl together. It’s almost like smoke.

    • The saran wrap method actually! I started with the brightest red as a base and saran-wrapped on maybe 2 darker reds and a grey!

  2. Serbian Orthodox Church also traditionally paints Easter eggs red, with wax often used to make patterns (or rather create negative space). I love your Easter egg nails. They are so striking and beautiful.

    • Thank you! And I didnt know that, although I guess it makes sense that is a general Orthodox tradition…but, why red?

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

