Creative musings in bright colors

Rainbow Splotches

This mani was a disaster, but a very colorful one! Ergo, rainbow day in the 31 Day Challenge. To achieve this craziness, I tested two types of polish (metallic vs jelly over silver), three ways of applying the polish (small splotches, big splotches, and stamper squish), and 5 stamps. Hilariously (aka sadly) when I had finally settled on colors, method of application, and stamp…the application didn’t work! It looked awful. So I switched and it took forever to correct the mistake, but the end result was super shimmery and colorful regardless :-p

IMG_0262

The design itself was inspired by Fashion Polish, although I don’t own those type of bold jellies nor do I own a stamp even close to what she has! So I improvised. All my stamps didn’t look anything like hers so I gave up and went with a different fun stamp instead.

IMG_0238

I liked both the matte and shiny versions of this mani! I matted it at the end cause that is what she had done…but I don’t know how I feel about it vs the shiny! Any votes for either direction?

IMG_0276

Colors:
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Pink: Petites Color Fever – Raspberry Ice
~ Red: Zoya – Isla
~ Orange: Sinful Colors – Courtney Orange
~ Yellow: Revlon – Hypnotize
~ Green: Zoya – Holly
~ Teal: Petites Color Fever – Figi
~ Blue: Zoya – Tart
~ Purple: Sinful Colors – Fig
~ Stamp: hehe – 024

IMG_0247

So many colors! I don’t actually own a bright purple metallic, so I used a subtle shimmer instead. My only purple metallics are in the dark-to-very-dark range. I hand’t realized!

IMG_7002

I hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Rainbow Splotches" (13)

  1. I love both of them! They’re so colourful!

  2. You’re far too hard on yourself. It’s rainbow that makes it good! And as if you really need to ask, shineeee.

  3. Beautiful! Where do you get stamping plates from?

  4. tracesofpolish said:

    If the process was a mess, the end result surely isnt anything like it! It looks really good! I think I prefer the shiny version more, but the matte is really pretty too.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

