Creative musings in bright colors

Crossing Teal

I both love and hate this manicure. I love how the colors came together, and I really do like the pattern on my accent nail. But I hate the shimmery teal!

IMG_0192

So, this is a polish I got as a gift from a friend of mine. It is called Jade Kat, by Sinful Colors. I can see why she bought it for me, it is the type of color I tend to love: jewel toned, bright, and shimmery. Also, teal! But the polish itself is a mess. This is four thin coats (I maybe could have done three but…). I let the first two dry for over an hour (as I ate dinner and played far too many rounds of Mariokart) and the polish wasn’t dry yet! I dinged it trying to cut the striping tape apart.

IMG_0180

Then I added two more coats, only to realize that sometime during the whole process I had developed bubbles. Tens of tiny bubbles all over my nails. Now, I’ve been painting my nails long enough to know how to avoid bubbles unless I am in a rush (or my top coat is a thickened mess) but neither was true in this case. It just bubbled at random! As a result, I really cannot recommend this polish, even if the metallic/shimmer finish is nice.

IMG_7015

The design came from @mypolishworld. I actually like the colors and layout better than what she did, but I wouldn’t have though of a gold nail without the reference photo!

Colors:
~ Gold: ILNP – Fame
~ Light teal: Maybelline – Green with Envy
~ Teal: Emily de Molly – Glee Ridden
~ Teal shimmer: Sinful Colors – Jade Kat

IMG_7017

That’s all for today! Maybe I’ll try this again sometime with polish that doesn’t make me want to immediately change my mani :-/

Comments on: "Crossing Teal" (4)

  1. The design is absolutely pretty but ugh, those bubbles… I totally get why you want to take this of asap!

  2. Ugh I hate it when a pretty polish does that! Maybe you got a dud bottle. But the colour and the mani looks amazing though.

    • I know! The color is great and the pattern was fun…and maybe the bottle is a dud, but sometimes I think that the Sinful Colors people don’t put much effort into their polish! Don’t get me wrong, they make my go-to black and white cremes. But other than cremes, they are very hit-or-miss!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

