Creative musings in bright colors

Lightsabers

Finally, the second Star Wars mani! After the first one took so long (it was totally worth it) I decided to so something a bit simpler on my other hand. Lightsabers!

IMG_1480

The design was inspired by Moustachemanis. I thought it was both easy and clever!

IMG_1905

I started with a base of whatever color I wanted the lightsaber to be. Once that was dry, I added thick striping tape and painted black holo polish over it, and then removed the tape. The details of the lightsaber handle were added  by hand once the black had dried somewhat.

IMG_1849

I also had to figure out how I wanted to do Kylo Ren’s lightsaber. I think (after having seen the movie) that the red laser crossbars on my thumb are certainly too long, but I like it anyway.

IMG_1886

Colors
~ Green: Salon Perfect – Loopy Lime
~ Teal: Zoya – Rocky
~ Purple: Zoya – Malia
~ Red: Pure Ice – Siren
~ Silver: A England – Excalibur
~ Grey: WOW – #301
~ Black: Zoya – Storm

IMG_1475

Hope you enjoyed! A winter-appropriate mani is on its way for tomorrow. 🙂

Comments on: "Lightsabers" (4)

  1. Pretty sweet! I checked out the original linked post, and yours is similar but with your own tweaks. Zoya Storm is perfect for outer space!

  2. Damn, that’s clever! These look amazing!

Leave a comment

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

Bulleuw

NPA en herbe, collectionne les couleurs en flacons.