Creative musings in bright colors

Hanukkah Sameach!

Happy first night of Hanukkah! I can never tell how to spell it. Chanukkah, Hanukah, Hanukka…whatever. Anyway, fire! This is the earliest I can ever remember Haunkkah occurring (turns out it’s only the second time in history that the holiday has fallen over Thanksgiving! The previous was in 1888. Wikipedia has a lot of random information!).

IMG_5668

Just like last year, I did a Haunkkah mani. However, last year I got carried away with too many things on too many nails (I do have a tendency to do that) so this year I just kept it simple! A menorah, candles, and Hanukkah (in hebrew).

IMG_5652

IMG_5657

This mani was inspired by the artistry of Nailed Daily. I loved the menorah idea! I also wanted something to do with Sunshine by Zoya. This navy blue textured polish looks super-glittery in the bottle, but is much more subtle on the nail. It is incredibly opaque, I probably could have gotten away with one coat! I added two very thin ones, and am happy with the result. It dried reasonably fast, and is not super-textury so has not caught on anything yet. It is a surprisingly elegant color! I don’t think I own any other “elegant” textured polishes…I tend to go for bright and glittery.

IMG_5644

Colors

  • Blue: Zoya – Sunshine
  • Gold: Maybelline – Bold Gold
  • White: Zoya – Purity
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Yellow: Revlon – Electric

IMG_3286

Happy Hanukkah!

Comments on: "Hanukkah Sameach!" (19)

  1. You did a really great job! The detail is sooooo good. 😀

  2. חנוכה שמח גם לך!

    I should do Hanukkah nails, I haven’t done nail art in quite a while. Maybe I’ll even try to challenge myself to a new Hanukkah design every night! Although that might be biting off more than I can chew. On the other hand, I’m between jobs so I *do* have lots of free time.

  3. yay! Happy Hanukkah! Love your menorah nails 🙂

  4. Love it! Happy Hanukkah!

  5. So beautiful! 😀

  6. This is brilliant, girl!
    When I saw your post in my reader I was like, whoa, Hanukkah already ?! : )
    I love the relative simplicity of this mani, it’s a really balanced design, must be so much fun to wear!

  7. […] Never thought this’d be valid so early? According to FlightOfWhimsy (whom I love to bits) at https://flightofwhimsy.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/hanukkah-sameach/ and Wikipedia this is only the second (2nd!) time Hanukkah has fallen over Thanksgiving!) […]

  8. Soooooooo….are you going to paint on a new candle each night?

  9. […] this week! I only made one really Jewish themed mani, since I figured there was no way I could top last year‘s menorah nail […]

  10. […] entire boards dedicated to Chanukah nail art–yay! So I was inspired by Flight of Whimsy and her menorah manicure from all the back in 2013!  I love looking at my own old art so it is fun to see someone else who has been blogging for […]

  11. […] entire boards dedicated to Chanukah nail art–yay! So I was inspired by Flight of Whimsy and her menorah manicure from all the back in 2013!  I love looking at my own old art so it is fun to see someone else who has been blogging for so […]

Leave a comment

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

Bulleuw

NPA en herbe, collectionne les couleurs en flacons.