Creative musings in bright colors

Frozen

Every year, I pick my favorite movie of the year. This year, hands down, the winner was Disney’s recent movie Frozen. It is amazing. The animation is fantastic, the singing is mind-blowing (more on that later), and the plot is awesome (and feminist!). I have been singing the songs from it for two weeks now. If you like Pixar movies, go see it. Disney took another Pixar idea and made it their own…complete with pre-movie short! My design is modeled on the clothing worn by the two main characters.

IMG_5984

frozen-anna-elsa

My accent nail is Anna’s dress, which she wears for most of the movie. The rest of the nails are Elsa’s dress, from after she accepts her place as the snow queen. Although you can barely tell, underneath all that glitter is a blue-to-teal gradient! I am very proud.

IMG_5981

In short, Frozen is the tale of two orphaned princesses, one with power and one without, who try to save their kingdom from ice. They are both helped and hindered by men, a snowman, a reindeer, and trolls. The best part of the movie, by far, is the singing. The lead (Elsa) is played by Idina Menzel, known as the original Elphaba in Wicked and Maureen in RENT. And boy, can she sing.

IMG_5991

Colors

  • Pale blue glitter: Sinful Colors – Cinderella
  • Gold: Maybelline – Bold Gold
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Green: Zoya – Holly
  • Pink: Petites Color Fever – Raspberry Ice
  • Purple: Nabi – Purple
  • Light blue: Essie – Full Steam Ahead
  • Blue: Zoya – Rocky
  • Teal: Zoya – Wednesday
  • Large holo glitter: Wet n’ Wild – Kalidascope
  • Teal holo glitter: Orly – Sparkling Garbage

IMG_5972

Needless to say, I love this mani! Hope you enjoyed, and I strongly recommend the movie!

—If you have no, pretty please go vote for my nails! Just enter your name, email, and select “flightofwhimsy” from the drop down menu. ❤ thank you!—

Comments on: "Frozen" (22)

  1. This mani is so EVA!!! love it!

  2. I feel like I have to watch this movie stat because I’ve heard so many great things about it.
    Lovely mani! 🙂

  3. They are soo much better than my Frozen inspired nails! I actually recently just did them! 😀 Very pretty design! I loove your idea!

  4. Love the nails, loved Frozen! 🙂

  5. […] guest post! Up first is her take on Disney’s new movie Frozen! I did some rather abstract Frozen nails a few weeks ago, and her’s are so much more recognizable! We have snow (obviously), Anna and […]

  6. Oh yay, I can see the fabrics in your design! Such a cool idea!

  7. I love frozen there’s a talent show coming up and a need a dress can you help me?

  8. […] you can’t get enough of Frozen, then you’ll love these inspired nails from Flight of Whimsy. Glitter nails and one floral nail match the outfits of the two girls and will allow you to sport […]

Leave a comment

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

Bulleuw

NPA en herbe, collectionne les couleurs en flacons.