Creative musings in bright colors

Valentines Watermarble

This has been in the works since my last/first watermarble! I wanted to try to marble hearts on my nails in pink and red. It needed something extra, so I added a dark blue, since the dress I’ll be wearing tonight is dark blue. I think it did the trick, and got rid of the over-the-top pink-and-red-lovey-ness of the whole mani!

IMG_1348

Honestly, although bits and pieces of hearts are on almost every finger, they are only identifiable on my ring and third fingers of my left hand, and maybe the ring finger on my right hand. I accidentally double-dipped part of my left thumb (grrr) but otherwise things came out pretty well! I still need to work on spacing how I’m going to dip in the water…things never end up centered!

IMG_0769

I used a lot of colors, and some went only on one hand.

  • White (base): Sinful Colors – Snow Me White
  • Pink: Sinful Colors – Pink Forever
  • Bright Red: City Color – Masquerade (red)
  • Deep Holo Red: Zoya – Blaze
  • Dark Blue: Wet n’ Wild – Blue Moon
  • Dark Red/Brown: Confetti – Masquerade Ball [right hand only, and you can’t see much of it. It just spread really well so I used it]
  • Holo Glitter: Wet n’ Wild – Kaleidoscope [left hand only, and I only put it over the pink. It’s subtle but glittery!]
  • Silver Glitter: Sally Hansen – Diamonds [right hand only, and again only over the pink]

IMG_1355

Basically, my left hand ended up very pink with some holo glitter, while my right hand ended up very red with some silver glitter. I LOVE what happened to the colors on my right thumb, when I put Masquerade and Blaze next to each other. I’m going to try that again, maybe with Blue Moon for my next watermarble!

IMG_0776

So, few hearts…but Happy Valentine’s Day!

IMG_0784

Comments on: "Valentines Watermarble" (6)

  1. i love watermarking but can never figure out how to get the heart and star burst designs how do you do it?

    • Patience! I pull out from the sides to affix the whole glob of nail polish to the sides of the cup, and then i just take from near the edge and drag in. I don’t bother trying to go all the way to the middle, just as far as I think will make a heart that will fit on my nail. I kinda poke and pull with the striper brush (i don’t have toothpicks) to make it look like what I want…and just dip in! I messed up 2 or 3 in the process of getting things that even remotely resembled hearts. I also leave my water out all day before using it so it equilibrates to room air.

  2. So pretty! I still can’t get a nice watermarble and find it so fiddly I keep on giving up! But I’m doing the 31 day challenge for my blog and its coming up soon so love looking at others to get as many tips as possible!

    • My two biggest tips:
      1) leave the water out overnight or during the day so it hits room temperature. Then use it
      2) test the polish first…if you pull the polish brush out and it drips readily then its probably a good polish to marble with. if it doesnt drip or drips very slowly then pick a different one!

Leave a comment

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

Bulleuw

NPA en herbe, collectionne les couleurs en flacons.