Creative musings in bright colors

Turkey Feathers

I never know what to paint for Thanksgiving. Fall-themed does not seem specific enough, food is weird, and pilgrims are jerks. So, turkey! Again. This time with bonus feathers. I lost the post where I got the idea for this design, but decided to try and stamp everything but the turkey body as opposed to freehand it all. The end result was hideous, so I went back over all my feathers/leaves by hand using the same color combination and ended up here. Its a bit messy, but whatever. My husband, the day before Thanksgiving, looks at my hand and goes “why did you paint a girl with big hair?” Because apparently context clues are irrelevant to him. I then took a poll at Thanksgiving, and everyone else agreed it was a turkey without prompting. Take that, husband!

Colors:

~ Light orange: OPI – Freedom of Peach
~ Dark brown: Zoya – Louise
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
~ Black: Maybelline – Onyx Rush
~ Yellow: OPI – Never a Dulles Moment
~ Orange: Emily de Molly – LE 197
~ Hot red: Emily de Molly – LE 199
~ Red: OPI – All I Want for Christmas (is OPI)
~ Dark red: OPI – Visions of Love
~ Stamps: UC – Lovely Leaves 2, BP – L008

If I wanted to do this again I think it would be a lot easier now that I have actual stamping polishes! My regular polishes just aren’t quite pigmented enough to show up over darker colors, or with the vibrancy that I would have liked. Win for stamping polish. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

Bulleuw

NPA en herbe, collectionne les couleurs en flacons.